Modular Packing in your Backpack

10 thoughts on “Modular Packing in your Backpack”

  1. Yeah, modular is the way to go. These packing skills I’ve honed on kayak camping trips and translated them to backpacking too. Key points: keep everything dry, organized and in groups. S-to-S gear has been a mainstay, including the compression drybags and others. The heavyweight Big River drybags are my choice when paddling for their durability, but the ultra-sil selections are excellent for backpacking.

  2. Only thing you don’t need to put in a dry bag is your wet weather gear – makes it easier and faster to get out, and you’ll have it on when the weather comes in! Just have it sitting on/near the top, or in an outside pocket for easy access.

    1. Thanks for your response, Becca –

      Because I was trying to keep the article down to one page in length, I didn’t go into specifics, but for the record, I keep a dry sack with my ‘immediate need clothing’ (rainshell, hat, gloves and in winter a neck gaiter) right at the top of my pack, immediately under the lid.

      I spent some time ski touring over the holidays – and the above system proved its worth several times as the weather changed.

      B

  3. This is the 1st time I’ve read your blog it’s just so full of interesting & helpful information, I’m a firm believer in the use of dry sacks.Sea to Summit certainly makes high quality gear.I’m looking forward to reading more from you. Thanx for. the info GREG,R

  4. Yes I fully agree. I have my sleeping bag and inner in one dry sack, my dry clothes/warm gear in another. With small bags for gloves, bennie and buff . My down jacket is in another and they are colour coded so they are easy to find. The smaller bags make for easier packing.
    I have two compartments in my pack and use the bottom section for my tent, camp shoes. This allows me in wet weather to access my tent without having to open the rest of my pack. Cheers from Oz

    1. G’Day Alberta

      Glad to know that our blog entry on modular packing proved to be helpful for your sister.

      Especially in wetter parts of the world (including the UK), colour-coded dry sacks really can remove the misery of rummaging through a rucksack for what turns out to be damp gear when you eventually find it.

      We’ve received images from all over the world of backpackers lining up gear in UltraSil and eVac Dry Sacks prior to stowing them in their packs which show how well the concept works. Thanks for spreading the good word!

      Best regards

      B

Leave a Reply

